Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Your Research at the Library!
Use this guide to get started with your research for
SPAN 402: Love and Country in the Nineteenth-Century Latin American Novel
To prepare for your upcoming research essay, you'll be preparing annotated bibliographies for the three novels you're reading this semester: Sab (1841), by Gertrudis Gómez de Avellaneda; Martin Rivas (1862) by Alberto Blest Gana ; and Aves sin nido (1889) by Clorinda Matto de Turner.
As experienced researchers, you all bring a wide range of skills and practices to your individual projects and our collective workspace. To guide our discussion and foster cooperative learning, we will collaboratively generate a list of our top research tactics (e.g. go-to tools, search strategies, methods for staying organized, etc.). This list will remain accessible for you to refer to it throughout the semester.
Add your top research tactics to the Padlet below!
Featured Reference Resources
You might be wondering why a SPAN 402 student would consult subject encyclopedias and other tertiary sources. The quick answer is that it can't hurt to make sure you have a good sense of how your research question fits in with other scholarly research that has been done--and the bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles are an efficient way to make sure you know who the scholars are who've been working on your topic.
Remember that tertiary sources are intended to fill in gaps in your knowledge or jumpstart your research; they should not be cited as scholarly secondary sources for your project.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Literary Cultures of Latin America by
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 L525 2004 v.1-3 Reference
Publication Date: 2004
In topically arranged articles written by a team of international scholars, Literary Cultures of Latin America explores the shifting problems that have arisen across national borders, geographic regions, time periods, linguistic systems, and cultural traditions in literary history.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature by
Call Number: PQ7081.A1 C35 1996 Print Books
Publication Date: 1996
These three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA.
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by
Call Number: PQ7082.N7 C36 2005 Print Books
Publication Date: 2005
The essays collected here offer several entryways into the understanding and appreciation of the Latin American novel in Spanish-speaking America and Brazil. Indispensable to students of Latin American or Hispanic studies and those interested in comparative literature and the development of the novel as genre, the Companion features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.