Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers & Magazines - Digital Collections
Newspaper and magazine articles can be especially rich primary source materials when you are researching the transmission of or popularization of an idea in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
London Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
For more contemporary news databases, choose from the the selections listed on the "Find News" library guide.
Digital Primary Source Collections
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
You've probably already used JSTOR to find scholarly articles, but the deep backfiles will help you identify key scholarly papers from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that you can analyze as primary sources.
Using Subject Headings in Primo to Find Primary Sources