Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics

Use this guide to get started doing mathematics research!

MathSciNet

A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to the research literature of mathematics. Provides the full text of Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present, and contains reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences and computer science literature. Covers books, journals and proceedings.

Search JStor

A high-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive, including mathematical materials. The entire database is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Additional Resources for Searching the Math Literature

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. 

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

  • Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.