Collins Memorial Library: ECON 240: Economics of Migration: Getting Started

Immigration Encyclopedias

American Immigration: an Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change by James Ciment; John Radzilowski
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2013
Thoroughly revised and expanded, this is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives.
Contemporary Immigration in America by Kathleen R. Arnold (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2015
State and local immigration issues and policies for all 50 states are thoroughly examined in this unique, up-to-date, and accessibly written encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by James Ciment
Call Number: JV6465 .E53 2000 (Reference, Main Floor)
Publication Date: 2001
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives.
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration by Immanuel Ness (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2013
Provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by Gordon Morris Bakken (Editor); Alexandra S. Kindell (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2006
provides a complete and definite history of racial and ethnic groups that populated the American West.
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration by Christine Inglis (Editor); Wei Li (Editor); Binod Khadria (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2019
Provides an authoritative and informed analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries.

Congressional Research Service: Immigration Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.

CRS is well-known for analysis that is authoritative, confidential, objective and nonpartisan. Its highest priority is to ensure that Congress has 24/7 access to the nation’s best thinking.

Search CRS Reports
Search 'immigration' on the CRS site for current reports.
CRS Reports on Immigration
CRS Reports on Immigration collected by the UNT Digital Library.

Hot Topics & Opposing Viewpoints

CQ Researcher
Full-text reports that cover background, main issues, pro/con, next steps, and further reading. Use the Issue Tracker to find related CQ reports and track an issue over time.
Global Issues: In Context
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
TOPICsearch (Current Events)
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics including controversial opinions and viewpoints.