Skip to Main Content

Faculty Services

Faculty & Staff Publications from 2022

The bibliography on this page represents the scholarship of University of Puget Sound faculty and staff for 2022.  Collins Library would like to thank Nieve Whitehouse '25 for their exceptionally able assistance in formatting the bibliography.

This bibliography is compiled every year; to see all available years, go to Celebration of Creative Inquiry.

BIBLIOGRAPHY, A-H

Ahn, Sun Young

School of Business and Leadership

  • Ahn, S. Y. and W. Heo. “The Impact of COVID-19 on Food Consumption Patterns: An Application of SOR Framework.” Proceedings of the American Council of Consumer Interests Annual Conference 68, Sheraton Sand Key, Clearwater Beach, FL, May 19-21, 2022.
  • Ahn, S. Y. and Y. Nam. 2022. "Does Mobile Payment Use Lead to Overspending? The Moderating Role of Financial Knowledge." Computers in Human Behavior 134: 107319. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2022.107319.
  • Hong, J., S. Y. Ahn, K. M. Camp, and K. James. 2022. "The Role of Consumer Mindsets to Reduce Health‐Related Stress." Journal of Consumer Behaviour 21 (4): 773-785. doi:https://doi.org/10.1002/cb.2036.
  • Kuo, Y., P. Wu, and S. Y. Ahn. 2022. "A Synthesized Retail Brand Personality Framework: A Cross-Cultural Study of Taiwan and the United States." Cross Cultural & Strategic Management. Advance Online Publication. https://doi.org/10.1108/CCSM-01-2022-0005.
  • Rha, J., Y. Nam, S. Y. Ahn, J. Kim, Y. Chang, J. Jang, et al., and H. Choo. 2022. "What Drives the Use of Wearable Healthcare Devices? A Cross-Country Comparison between the U.S. and Korea." Digital Health 8: 1-16. doi:https://doi.org/10.1177/20552076221120319.

 

Austin, Greta

Religion, Spirituality, and Society

  • Austin, Greta. 2022. "Canon Law in the Long Tenth Century, 900-1050." In Cambridge Companion to Medieval Canon Law, edited by Anders Winroth and John Wei, 82-104. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
  • “Rethinking the Boundaries between Penance and Canon Law, C. 900-1020.” XVI International Congress of Medieval Canon Law. St. Louis University, July 17-23, 2022.

 

Behling, Laura

English

  • Behling, Laura. 2022a. "Formalizing Curiosity: Administrative Leadership in Support of Undergraduate Research, Scholarship, and Creative Work." Pedagogy: Critical Approaches to Teaching Literature, Language, Composition, and Culture, special volume on undergraduate research, scholarship, and creative work 22 (1): 35-38.
  • Behling, Laura. 2022b. Review of Peculiar Whiteness: Racial Anxiety and Poor Whites in Southern Literature, 1900-1965 by Justin Mellette. The Flannery O’Connor Review (January 2022): 139-141.

 

Block, Geoffrey

School of Music

  • Block, Geoffrey. 2022a. "'A Sad and Listless Affair': The Unsung Film Adaptation of A Little Night Music." In Sondheim in Our Time and His, edited by Anthony W. Sheppard, 277-306. New York: Oxford University Press.
  • Block, Geoffrey. 2022b. "When Fred Lost Ginger: Thoughts on the Genesis and Legacy of A Damsel in Distress." In The Oxford Handbook of the Hollywood Musical, edited by Dominic Broomfield-McHugh, 250-284. New York: Oxford University Press.

 

Brody, Nick

Communication Studies

  • LeFebvre, L. E., K. G. Blackburn, and N. Brody. 2022. "Virtual Relationship Memory: A Conceptual Model of Mediated Communication and Relational Dissolution." Communication Theory: qtac018. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/ct/qtac018.

 

Brown, Gwynne

School of Music

  • Brown, Gwynne. 2022a. “A Century of Musical Perspectives on Georgia Douglas Johnson.” Lecture-recital presented with Prof. Dawn Padula at the African American Art Song Alliance 25th anniversary conference, Irving, CA, October 13-16, 2022.
  • Brown, Gwynne. 2022b. “Collaborative Piano Performance with Countertenor Darryl Taylor.” Music from Home recital series at Lakewold Gardens, November 6, 2022. https://lakewoldgardens.org/musicfromhome/lord-ill-go/
  • Brown, Gwynne. 2022c. “The Melodica Revolution: Rethinking Music Appreciation through Creative Participation.” Workshop presented with Prof. Anna Wittstruck at the American Musicological Society national meeting, New Orleans, November 10-13, 2022.
  • Brown, Gwynne.  2022d. Pre-Concert Lecture on William Dawson's Negro Folk Symphony. Seattle Symphony, April 28 & 30, 2022.
  • Brown, Gwynne.  2022e. Program Notes for Cincinnati Symphony Performance of Negro Folk Symphony. https://www.cincinnatisymphony.org/dawson-program, January 8-9, 2022.

 

Burgard, Dan

Chemistry and Biochemistry

  • Gao, J., D. A. Burgard, B. J. Tscharke, F. Yin Lai, J. W. O’Brien, Q. Zheng, J. Li, et al. 2022. "Refining the Estimation of Amphetamine use by Wastewater-Based Epidemiology using the Ratio of Amphetamine to Methamphetamine Produced by Methamphetamine Consumption." Water Research 225: 119182. doi:rg/10.1016/j.watres.2022.119182.

 

Carlin, Jane

Collins Memorial Library

  • Carlin, Jane. 2022. "In the Library: Arts & Sciences." Fine Books & Collections 20 (4): 55-57.
  • Carlin, Jane, MalPina Chan, Katy Curtis, Alisa Banks, Carletta Carrington Wilson, Amy E. Ryken, and Marshall Weber. 2022. Changing the Conversation: Artists’ Books, Zines and Broadsides from the Collins Memorial Library Collection. Tacoma, WA: University of Puget Sound.

 

Carroll, Jordan

English

  • Carroll, Jordan. 2022a. "A Collapsing World: On David Yoon’s City of Orange." Los Angeles Review of Books. https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/a-collapsing-world-on-david-yoons-city-of-orange.
  • Carroll, Jordan. 2022b. "Everyone Makes Monsters: An Interview with Kim Newman." Vector. https://vector-bsfa.com/2022/05/28/everybody-makes-monsters-an-interview-with-kim-newman.
  • Carroll, Jordan. 2022c. "QAnon, A Compensatory Fantasy for a Nation in Decline." Los Angeles Review of Books. https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/compensatory-fantasies-for-a-nation-in-decline-on-robert-guffeys-operation-mindfuck-and-mia-bloom-and-sophia-moskalenkos-pastels-and-pedophiles.
  • Caroll, Jordan. 2022d. "To Understand Elon Musk, You have to Understand this ‘60s Sci-Fi Novel." Jacobin. https://jacobin.com/2022/05/musk-tesla-robert-heinlein-libertarianism-technocracy.
  • Caroll, Jordan. 2022e. "Welcome to Warhammer 40K’s Anti-Fascist Future." Polygon. https://www.polygon.com/23414657/warhammer-40k-anti-fascism-space-marines-capitalism-leagues-of-votann-hate.

 

Corwin, Elizabeth 

School of Physical Therapy

  • Corwin, E. and Watts, V.  2022. “Examining the educational potential of a screen in which participants are taught to screen themselves.” Presentation at the International Association for Dance Science and Medicine’s 32nd Annual Conference, October 28-31, 2022.

 

Crocker, Katherine

Biology

  • Thompson, T. V. and K. C. Crocker. 2022. "Study the Forest, Not Only the Trees: Environmental Exposures, Not Genomes, Generate Most Health Disparities." Front Genet 13: 817899. doi:10.3389/fgene.2022.817899.

 

Fortmann, Lea

Economics

  • Miteva, D. A., L. Fortmann, and R. McNab. 2022. “Beyond the Traditional: Voluntary Market-Based Initiatives to Promote Land Tenure Security.” In Land Tenure Security and Sustainable Development, edited by Margaret B. Holland, Yuta J. Masuda, and Brian E. Robinson, 269-290. Cham: Palgrave Macmillan.

 

Frankenfeld, Cara

Public Health

  • Cleaveland, C. L. and C. L. Frankenfeld. 2022. "Economic Factors are Strongly Associated with Poorer Latino Mental Health during COVID-19." Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities: 1-14. doi:https://doi.org/10.1007/s40615-022-13266-8.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L. 2022.  “Biostatistical Approaches in Gut Microbiome Research.” Presentation at the American Society of Nutrition-Institute for the Advancement of Food and Nutrition Science Collaborative Session “Sample Collection, Preservation, and Data Analysis in Gut Microbiome Research: Current Methods and Potential Impact on Results,” October 13, 2022.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L. 2022b. "Fecal Metabolome: New Addition to the Toolbox for Dietary Assessment?" Journal of Nutrition. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/nxac233.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L. 2022c. "Probing Beyond: Looking into the Patterns within a High-Quality Diet." Journal of Nutrition 152: 653-654. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/jn/nxab438.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L., J. W. Lampe, M. A. Hullar, G. Maskarinec, U. Lim, K. R. Monroe, J. A. Shepherd, et al. 2022. "Components and Biomarkers of Diet Quality Associated with the Gut Microbiome in the Multiethnic Cohort Study." Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics 122: 78-98. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jand.2021.05.023.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L., G. Maskarinec, and A. A. Franke. 2022. "Metabolomics Profiles of Premenopausal Women are Different Based on O-Desmethylangolensin Metabotype." British Journal of Nutrition 128: 1490-1498. doi:https://doi.org/10.1017/S0007114521004463.
  • Frankenfeld, C. L.  2022. “Novel Methodological Considerations and Applications in Nutritional and Obesity Epidemiology.” Session Organizer and Moderator for the Society for Epidemiologic Research Annual Meeting, June 14-17, 2022.
  • Jiang, L., L. Cheskin, Z. Rana, C. L. Frankenfeld, E. Kennedy, and E. de Jonge. 2022. "Loneliness is Associated with Unhealthful Dietary Behaviors and Physical Inactivity among US College Students." Journal of American College Health. doi:https://doi.org/10.1080/07448481.2022.2141060.
  • Leslie, T. F., C. L. Frankenfeld, and A. Hattery. 2022. "Differentiating Black and Hispanic: Outcome Differences of Segregated Communities and Police Shootings 2011-2014." Injury Epidemiology 9 (1): 8. doi:https://doi.org/10.1186/s40621-022-00372-y.
  • Leslie, T. F., C. L. Frankenfeld, and N. Menon. 2022. " Racial and Economic Residential Segregation of Diagnostic Hospital: Disparities in Colorectal Cancer Time-to-Treatment and Survival in Georgia, United States." Cancer Epidemiology 81: 102267. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.canep.2022.102267.
  • Li, H., J. R. Krall, C. Frankenfeld, and M. Slavin. 2022. "Nutritional Intake of Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) and Probable Migraine: A Cross-Sectional Analysis of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) 2001-2004." Nutritional Neuroscience: 1-10. doi:https://doi.org/10.1080/1028415X.2022.2126760.
  • Rana, Z. H., C. Frankenfeld, E. Kennedy, J. Bertoldo, E. de Jonge, and L. J. Cheskin. 2022. "Why Don’t College Freshman Meet the US Dietary Guidelines for Added Sugar, Refined Grains, Sodium, and Saturated Fat?" Journal of American College Health: 1-11. doi:https://doi.org/10.1080/07448481.2021.2024213.
  • Rossheim, M. E., B. Khoshal, S. Karon, L. Cheskin, P. J. Trangenstein, C. L. Frankenfeld, N. Ramezani, and A. E. Cuellar. 2022. "Substance use and Firearm Access among College Freshman." Journal of American College Health: 1-5. doi:https://doi.org/10.1080/07448481.2022.2068959.
  • Sullivan, P., E. Trapido, J. Acquavella, R. F. Gillum, R. S. Kirby, M. R. Kramer, S. L. Carmichael, C.L. Frankenfeld, et al. 2022. "Editorial Priorities and Timeliness of Editorial Assessment and Peer Review during the COVID-19 Pandemic." Annals of Epidemiology 69: 24-26. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annepidem.2022.01.003.

 

Hamel, Fred

School of Music

 

Hastings, Jennifer

School of Physical Therapy

  • Halle, K. and J. D. Hastings. 2022. "Investigating Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Stress during Pandemic Related Curricular Changes." The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice 20 (3): Article 4.

 

Hong, Zaixin

Art and Art History

  • Hong, Zaixin. 2022a. Huang Binhong De Shijie Yiyi: Zhongguo Xiandai Yishu Yanjiu Wenji [The Universality of Huang Binhong: An Anthology on Modern Chinese Art Studies]. Vol. 1 & 2. Hangzhou: China Art Press.
  • Hong, Zaixin. 2022b. “Shanshui as Human Intelligence for the Anthropocene.” Online Research Incubator Workshop at the Humanities for the Anthropocene: Values, Principles, and Practices, University of Puget Sound and University of Victoria, August 25, 2022.
  • Hong, Zaixin. 2021. "Teng Baiye, Finger Painting, and New Norms in Modern Art Movements." Yishushi Yanjiu [The Study of Art History] 25: 199-230.
  • Hong, Zaixin. 2023. “Unfolding a New Chapter of Global Art History: Collecting and Creating Chinese Painting in Modern Epigraphic Movement as seen in the Dynamics between Singapore and Chinese Art Circles of the 20th Century.” Lecture at the National Gallery, Singapore, January 7, 2023.
  • Hong, Zaixin. 2022c. “Why Shanshui–Exploring the Inner Beauty of Chinese Shanshui Painting.” Lecture at the Vancouver Art Gallery, Canada, January 20, 2022.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY, I-P

Imbrigotta, Kristopher

German Studies

  • Imbrigotta, Kristopher. 2023. “Elisabeth Hauptmann;” “Berlin;” “Falk Richter;” “Frank Castorf.” In Encyclopedia of Modern Theatre, edited by Colin Chambers. London: Bloomsbury.
  • Imbrigotta, Kristopher and Jack Aldisert*. 2022. “The Q-Effekt: Modern Drag Performance as Epic Theatre.”  Presentation at the 18th Brecht Society Symposium, Tel Aviv University, Israel, December 2022.
  • Imbrigotta, Kristopher and Karolina May-Chu. 2022. "Rethinking the Survey Course in German Studies." German Studies Collaboratory Blog Zeitnah. https://germanstudiescollaboratory.com/rethinking-the-survey-course.

* University of Puget Sound student Jack Aldisert ('19).

 

Joshi, Priti 

English

  • Joshi, Priti. 2021. Empire News: The Anglo-Indian Press Writes India. Albany, NY: State University of New York. 2022 winner of the Colby prize from Research Society of Victorian Periodicals. Shortlisted for the DeLong prize from Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Printing 2022.
  • Joshi, Priti. 2022a. "Grist for the Mill: History and the Essay in India, 1870-1920." In The Cambridge History of the British Essay, edited by Jason Childs and Denise Gigante. 
  • Joshi, Priti. 2022b. "To Swell a Scene: Reviewing Books and History in Mookerjee’s Magazine." Victorian Periodicals Review, special issue on “The Review.” 55 (2): 257-273.

 

Kelley, Diane 

French and Francophone Studies

  • Kelley, Diane. 2022. "After 1792: Madame Helvetius, Auteuil and the French Revolution." Women's History Today 4: 23-32.

 

Latimer, David

Physics

  • Walter, K., K. Hall, and D. C. Latimer. 2022. "Aligning a Majorana Fermion’s Anapole Moment with an External Current through Photon Emission Mediated by the Fermion’s Generalized Polarizabilities." Physical Review D 106: 096021.

*University of Puget Sound students Kiana Walter ('21) and Kobi Hall ('20).
 

Lear, John

History and Latin American Studies

  • Lear, John. 2022a. "Diego Rivera Paints the Proletariat." In Diego Rivera’s America, edited by James Oles. San Francisco, CA: exhibition catalog at San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, University of California Press.
  • Lear, John. 2022b. "The Red Squares of Manhattan." In Diego Rivera’s America, edited by James Oles. San Francisco, CA: exhibition catalog at San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, University of California Press.

 

Liao, Sam

Philosophy

  • Liao, Sam and Vanessa Carbonell. Forthcoming 2023. "Materialized Oppression in Medical Tools and Technologies." American Journal of Bioethics: 1-15.
  • Liao, Sam and Nat Hansen. Forthcoming 2023. “‘Extremely Racist’ and ‘Incredibly Sexist’: An Empirical Response to the Charge of Conceptual Inflation.” Journal of the American Philosophical Association: 1-23.

 

Luo, Yu

Sociology and Anthropology 

  • Luo, Y. and Y. Gao. 2022. “In the Wake of the China-Africa Ivory Trade: More-than-Human Ethics Across Borders.” Social and Cultural Geography 23 (2): 270-291.
  • Luo, Yu. 2022a. Book Review of The Sounds of Social Space: Branding, Built Environment, and Leisure in Urban China by Paul Kendall. The China Journal 87: 147-149.
  • Luo, Yu. 2022b. “The Domestic Life of Buyi Videos: The ‘Home Mode’ in Ethnic Rural Southwest China.” Ethnos: Journal of Anthropology. doi:10.1080/00141844.2022.2081237.

 

Madlung, Andreas

Biology

  • Balderrama, D.,* S. Barnwell,* K. D. Carlson, E. Salido,* R. Guevara, C. Nguyen,* and A. Madlung. 2023. "Phytochrome F Mediates Red Light Responsiveness Additively with Phytochromes B1 and B2 in Tomato." Plant Physiology.
  • Oruganti, V., H. Toegelova, A. Pečinka, A. Madlung, and K. Schneeberger. 2022. “Rapid Large-Scale Genomic Introgression in Arabidopsis Suecica Via an Autoallohexaploid Bridge.” Genetics: iyac132. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/genetics/iyac132.

*Co-authored by University of Puget Sound students D. Balderrama (‘21), S. Barnwell (‘21), E. Salido (‘20), and C. Nguyen (‘23).

 

Marcavage, Janet

Art and Art History

  • Marcavage, Janet. Artist. Printmaking: A Social Practice. A UW-Madison Alumni Exhibition, selected by curator Tyanna Buie as part of Our Shared Future: The Southern Graphics Council International Conference, Memorial Union Gallery, University of Wisconsin–Madison, February & March, 2022.
  • Marcavage, Janet. Artist. “East/West Portfolio.” Twenty Years of Marais Press: Imprinting a Campus and Collection, Hilliard Art Museum, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, September 10, 2021-August 20, 2022. https://hilliardmuseum.org/exhibits/twenty-years-of-marais-press-imprinting-a-campus-and-collection.

 

Melchior, Aislinn

Greek, Latin & Mediterranean Studies

  • Melchior, Aislinn.* Empire of Venus. Rausch Auditorium, Tacoma, WA, November 17-19, 2022.

*Cast included University of Puget Sound alumni E.J. Crocker, Heather Koch, and two actors from the Tacoma community.

 

Morton, Heidi

Counseling - School of Education

  • Morton, H. L. and N. Hill. 2022. “School Counseling: Collaborating with School Staff.” In Foundations of School Counseling: Innovations in Professional Practice, edited by C. N. Edwards and M. A. Graham. 1st ed., 265-278. New York: Springer Publishing Company.

 

Padula, Dawn

School of Music

  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano, role of Dame Quickly in "Falstaff," by Giuseppe Verdi. Puget Sound Concert Opera, Music Center of the Northwest, Seattle, WA, June 10, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano, role of Dryade in "Ariadne Auf Naxos," by Richard Strauss. Vashon Opera, Vashon Center for the Arts, Vashon, WA, September 2 & 4, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano, role of Maguellone in "Cendrillon," by Pauline Viardot. Puget Sound Concert Opera, Music Center of the Northwest & Cross of Christ Lutheran Church, Seattle, WA, September 23 & 25, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano, role of Ruth in "The Pirates of Penzance," by W. S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan. Seattle Gilbert and Sullivan Society, Bagley Wright Theatre, Seattle, WA, July 15-31, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano soloist, "Fern Hill," by John Corigliano. Adelphian Concert Choir, Kilworth Chapel, Tacoma, WA, May 1, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, mezzo-soprano soloist, "Requiem," by Gabriel Fauré. Northwest Repertory Singers, Kilworth Chapel, Tacoma, WA, May 21-22, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, performer. “A Century of Musical Perspectives on Georgia Douglas Johnson.” Lecture-recital presented with Prof. Gwynne Brown at the African American Art Song Alliance 25th anniversary conference, Irving, CA, October 13-16, 2022.
  • Padula, Dawn, performer. “Intimate Bach,” various works by J. S. Bach and Barbara Strozzi. Tacoma Bach Festival, Kilworth Chapel, Tacoma, WA, July 15-17, 2022.

 

Peine, Emelie K.

International Political Economy

  • Peine, E. 2022a. “From the Forest to the Trees and Back again: Linking Local and Global in a Food Systems Curriculum.” Paper prepared for the USDA Hispanic-Serving Institutions Food and Agriculture Curriculum Symposium, Santa Fe Community College, Santa Fe, NM, October 13, 2022.
  • Peine, Emelie. 2022b. “Hooch: Liquor as Control, Liquor as Resistance.” Presentation at Rural Sociological Society Annual Conference, Denver, CO, August 7, 2022.
  • Peine, Emelie. 2022c.  “Revisiting a ‘Landscape of Consumption in Decline’: The Paradox of Pigeon Forge Tennessee.” Presentation at Appalachian Studies Association Annual Conference, Morgantown, WV, March 17-20, 2022.
  • Peine, Emelie. 2022d. “Trans-Mountain Moonshine: Liquor, Identity, and Resistance in the Appalachian and Carpathian Mountains” Presentation at Appalachians/Carpathians International Mountain Conference, Transilvania University, Brasov, Romania, October 2-7, 2022.

 

Protasi, Sara

Philosophy

  • Protasi, Sara. 2022a. "Beyond Envy’s Dark Side." The Institute of Art and Ideas. https://iai.tv/articles/beyond-envys-dark-side-auid-2056.
  • Protasi, Sara. 2022b. "Envy as a Civic Emotion." In Political Emotions: Towards a Decent Public Sphere, edited by Thom Brooks: Palgrave Macmillan.
  • Protasi, Sara. 2022c. The Moral Psychology of Envy. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield.
  • Protasi, Sara. 2022d. "The Things We Envy: Fitting Envy and Human Goodness." In Fittingness, edited by Christopher M. Howard and Richard Rowland: Oxford University Press.
  • Protasi, Sara, interviewee. 2022. “Why Envy Is a Powerful Motivator.” By Anna Bartter. Psychologies UK.
  • Protasi, Sara, interviewee. 2022. “Anatomia dell’invidia (Con ipotesi di cura).” By Giuliano Aluffi. Il Venerdì di Repubblica (2022).

BIBLIOGRAPHY, Q-Z

Ramakrishnan, Siddharth

Neuroscience and Biology

  • Ramakrishnan, Siddharth. 2022. "Peptidergic Modulation of a Multi-Functional Central Pattern Generator in the Pulmonate Snail." Journal of Experimental Biology 225 (24): jeb244953. doi:https://doi.org/10.1242/jeb.244953.

 

Roberts, Holly

School of Physical Therapy

  • Galgon, A. K., H. J. Roberts, A. Littman, L. L. Heusel-Gillig, L. Dransfield, C. M. Plishka, and D. M. Wrisley. 2022. "A Survey of Entry-Level Physical Therapy Education Content for Vestibular Rehabilitation." Journal of Physical Therapy Education 36 (1): 65-75. doi:10.1097/JTE.0000000000000210.
  • Heusel-Gillig, L., C. Weglarz, and H. J. Roberts. 2022. “Utilizing the Updated Vestibular Hypofunction Clinical Practice Guidelines: A Case Series.” Poster presentation at the International Conference for Vestibular Rehabilitation. Poster presentation at the Academy of Neurologic Rehabilitation Annual Conference, Minneapolis, MN, October 15-17, 2022.
  • Littmann, A., A. K. Galgon, D. Wrisley, H. J. Roberts, L. Heusel-Gillig, and C. Plishka. 2022. “A Survey of Clinical Readiness for Practice in Vestibular Rehabilitation by Entry-Level Physical Therapist Graduates.” Poster presentation at the International Conference for Vestibular Rehabilitation. Poster presentation at the Academy of Neurologic Rehabilitation Annual Conference, Minneapolis, MN, October 15-17, 2022.
  • Roberts, Holly. 2022. 2022. "COVID Restrictions Did Not Result in Decreased Physical Activity in Community-Dwelling Older Adults." APTA Geriatrics Combined Sections Meeting 2022 Poster Abstracts, Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy 45 (1): E16-E77. doi:10.1519/JPT.0000000000000336.
  • Roberts, Holly. Guest Editor. 2022. Topics in Vestibular Physical Therapy. 
  • Roberts, H. J., K. M. Johnson, J. E. Sullivan, and C. W. Hoppes. 2022. "Balance Confidence and Balance Performance, but Not Fall History are Associated with Quality of Life in Community-Dwelling Older Adults: A Cross-Sectional Study." Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy. doi:10.1519/JPT.0000000000000349.
  • Roberts, H. J. and A. M. Yorke. 2022. “Introduction: Clinical Practice Guideline for Vestibular Rehabilitation for Peripheral Vestibular Hypofunction Update: From Evidence to Practice.” Topics in Vestibular Physical Therapy, Spring/Summer 2022. https://www.neuropt.org/docs/default-source/vsig-newsletters/spsu-vest-sig-newsletter.pdf?sfvrsn=b8c25c43_0.
  • Roberts, H. J., A. Yorke, C. Weglarz, E. Dannenbaum, L. Heusel-Gillig, E. Greenler, L. D’Silva, and D. Cassidy. 2022. “Clinical Decision-Making Algorithms for use of the Updated Clinical Practice Guideline for Peripheral Vestibular Hypofunction: From Research to Practice.” Poster presentation at the International Conference for Vestibular Rehabilitation. Poster presentation at the Academy of Neurologic Rehabilitation Annual Conference, Minneapolis, MN, October 15-17, 2022.
  • Stoewer, J.*, C. Filce*, and H. J. Roberts. 2022. “COVID Restrictions Did Not Result in Decreased Physical Activity in Community Dwelling Older Adults.” Poster presentation at the American Physical Therapy Association Combined Sections Meeting, San Antonio, TX, February 2-5, 2022.

*University of Puget Sound students Jillian Stoewer ('23), Cara Filce ('23).

 

Rouse, Jr., Melvin 

Psychology

  • Stevenson, T. J., K. Y. Peng, M. L. Rouse, B. A. Alward, and G. F. Ball. 2022. "Social Regulation of Immediate Early Gene Induction in Gonadotropin Releasing-Hormone 1 Neurons and Singing Behavior in Canaries (Serinus Canaria)." Physiology & Behavior 256: 113959.

 

Sampen, Maria

School of Music

  • Sampen, Maria. 2022. First violin of  the Hawcaptak Quartet. Violin Memory, with John Stowell, Dave Glenn, and the Hawcaptak Quartet, duo recorded May 2018 to September 2020, strings recorded June 18, 2021, Origin Records, CD. https://originarts.com/recordings/recording.php?TitleID=82841.
  • ———. One-hour live performance and interview with the Puget Sound Piano Trio. Northwest Focus Live, Seattle Classical King FM, Seattle, WA, 98.1, October 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Amy Beach Sonata;” “Coleridge-Taylor, Suite de Piéces, Op. 3;” “Mozart Sonata, K. 303;” “Ravel, Tzigane.”Jacobsen Recital, with pianist, Xiaohui Yang, Tacoma, WA, October 28, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Brahms Trio No. 1 in B major;” “Chen Yi, Tibetan Tunes;” “Beethoven Trio, Op. 1, No. 1.” Puget Sound Trio, Jacobsen Recital series, Tacoma, WA, November 13, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Bach Ciaccona;” “Myers, Partita for Solo Violin.” Tacoma Bach Festival, Tacoma, WA, July 16, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Bach Largo from Sonata No. 3 in C major;” “Guns n’ Roses, Sweet Child O’ Mine (arranged by DeGraff).” Puget Sound Trio, University of Puget Sound Collage Concert, Tacoma, WA, September 30, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Brahms Trio No. 1 in B major;” “Chen Yi, Tibetan Tunes;” “Beethoven Trio, Op. 1, No. 1.” Puget Sound Trio, Alaska Center for the Performing Arts, Anchorage, AK, October 21, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Copland, Appalachian Spring;” “Barber, Medea.” Music for Martha, Jacobsen Series, Tacoma, WA, September 9, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Crumb Black Angels.” Walla Walla Chamber Music Festival, Valdemar Cellars, Power House Theater, Walla Walla, WA, June 12, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Georges Enescu, Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Piano.” Walla Walla Chamber Music Winter Festival with pianist David Korevaar, Walla Walla, WA,  January 22 & 23, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Hertabuise;” “Luminous Points” by Melia Watras. Classical Tuesdays, Old Town, Tacoma, WA, November 8, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Korngold Sextet;” “Shostakovich Piano Trio No. 2.” Walla Walla Chamber Music Festival, Foundry Vineyards, Power House Theater, Walla Walla, WA, June 24 & 25, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Mozart Duo in G major for Violin and Viola.” Walla Walla Chamber Music Festival Pop Up Concert, Waitsburg, WA, June 16, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Mei, Blue Hijaz.” Benefit Concert, Orchestra Recital Series of Tacoma, Pacific Lutheran University, February 6, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “Shostakovich Trio No. 2;” “Lera Auerbach Trio No. 1;” “Samuel Coleridge Taylor Five Negro Melodies.” Puget Sound Piano Trio, Jacobsen Recital Series, Tacoma, WA, March 10, 2022.
  • ———, performer. “William Grant Still, Suite for Violin and Piano.” Korean Music Association Benefit Concert with pianist Tanya Stambuk, Nordstrom Recital Hall, Seattle, WA, June 12, 2022.
  • ———, solo violinist and orchestra contractor. “Faure Requiem.” Northwest Repertory Choir, Tacoma, WA, May 21 & 22, 2022.

 

Scharrer, Eric

Chemistry

  • Adamo, F. C., F. Ciuchi, M. P. De Santo, P. Astolfi, I. Warner,* E. Scharrer, M. Pisani, F. Vita, and O. Francescangeli. 2022. "Nanoscale Structure of Langmuir–Blodgett Film of Bent-Core Molecules." Nanomaterials (Basel, Switzerland) 12 (13): 2285-2294. doi:10.3390/nano12132285.

*University of Puget Sound student Isabelle Warner ('20).

 

Sherman, Dan

Environmental Policy and Decision Making

  • Sherman, Daniel J. and David R. Montgomery. 2023. Environmental Science and Sustainability. 2nd ed. New York: W.W. Norton.

 

Spaček, Wendy

Collins Memorial Library

  • Spaček, Wendy Lee. 2022. Review of Climate by Julie Carr and Lisa Olstein. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment: isac075. doi:https://doi.org/10.1093/isle/isac075.

 

Steere, Karin

School of Physical Therapy

  • Steere, Karin. 2022. “Pain Catastrophizing, Pain Intensity and Perceived Injustice Do Not Predict Heart Rate Variability in Acute Pain.” Presentation at the World Congress on Pain, Toronto, Canada, September 19-23, 2022.
  • Steere, Karin.* 2022. “The Relationship of Catastrophization, Pain Intensity and Heart Rate Variability in Acute Pain - A Pilot Study.” Presentation at the European Pain Federation Conference, Dublin, Ireland, April 27-30, 2022.

*Research assistants were University of Puget Sound students Elizabeth Waddell (‘22) and Carolyn Barbee (‘22).

 

Weiss, Stacey

Biology

  • Bunker, M. E., A. E. Arnold, and S. L. Weiss. 2022. "Wild Microbiomes of Striped Plateau Lizards Vary with Reproductive Season, Sex, and Body Size." Scientific Reports 12: 20643. doi:10.1038/s41598-022-24518-6.
  • Bunker, M. E. and S. L. Weiss. 2022. "Cloacal Microbiomes of Sympatric and Allopatric Sceloporus Lizards Vary with Environment and Host Relatedness." PLOS One 17 (12): e0279288. doi:https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0279288.

 

Weisz, Carolyn

Psychology and Race & Pedagogy Institute

  • Weisz, Carolyn and Michael Craw.* 2022. Understanding Experiences of Black Clients using Pierce County Coordinated Entry Services.

*Research assistants included University of Puget Sound students Skyler De la Cruz (‘23), Jeremiah Miller (‘24), and Emily Kidd (‘23).

 

White, Heather

Gender and Queer Studies

  • White, Heather. 2022. "Looking for Race in Sites Defined by its Absence." American Religions. https://www.american-religion.org/mormons-race-sexuality/white.

 

Wittstruck, Anna

School of Music

  • Wittstruck, Anna. 2022. “The Melodica Revolution: Rethinking Music Appreciation through Creative Participation.” Workshop presented with Prof. Gwynne Brown at the American Musicological Society national meeting, New Orleans, November 10-13, 2022.

 

Woods, Carrie

Biology

  • Baez-Schon, M. C., C. L. Woods, and C. L. Cardelús. 2022. "Sacred Church Forests in Northern Ethiopia: Biodiversity and Cultural Islands in Biodiversity Islands." In Strategies for Conservation in Human Dominated Environments, edited by F. Montagnini, 531-549.
  • Hietz, P., K. Wagner, F. Nunes Ramos, J. S. Cabral, C. Agudelo, A. M. Benavides, M. J. Cach‐Pérez, C.L. Woods, et al. 2022. "Putting Vascular Epiphytes on the Traits Map." The Journal of Ecology 110 (2): 340-358. doi:10.1111/1365-2745.13802.
  • Reyes-García, C., N. A. Pereira-Zaldívar, C. Espadas-Manrique, M. Tamayo-Chim, N. Chilpa-Galván, M. J. Cach-Pérez, M. Ramírez-Medina, C.L. Woods, et al. 2022. "New Proposal of Epiphytic Bromeliaceae Functional Groups to Include Nebulophytes and Shallow Tanks." Plants 11 (22): 3151. doi:10.3390/plants11223151.
  • Spicer, M. E. and C. L. Woods. 2022. "A Case for Studying Biotic Interactions in Epiphyte Ecology and Evolution." Perspectives in Plant Ecology, Evolution and Systematics 54: 125658. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ppees.2021.125658.

 

Zopfi, Steven

School of Music

  • Zopfi, Steven. Founder of Tacoma Bach Festival, Kilworth Chapel, University of Puget Sound, Tacoma, WA, July 15-17, 2022.