Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

Primary Texts in Collins Library

Print copies of philosophical texts can be located via the Collins Library Primo Search.

Scholarly Editions
Whenever possible, you should use scholarly editions of philosophical texts. A scholarly edition of a text typically will present and discuss variant versions; provide historical, cultural and linguistic context; and delineate the history of scholarly approaches to that text. Most scholarly editions will have an editor (or editors) and will be published by a university press (see catalog example below).

Translations
English translations of philosophical texts can differ markedly. Always use the translation your professor recommends.

Public Domain Texts

Google Books will help you find online versions of older philosophy texts that are in the public domain (out of copyright). These texts will not include the most up-to-date scholarly annotations. Be especially careful if you are using an older translation; some nineteenth-century translators edited content without letting the reader know.

Google Book Search

Online Philosophy Texts

Featured Resource

Philosophy Bites

Philosophy Bites

"Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics..."

Loading ...

Audio Archives

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Philosophy

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The John D. Regester Collection on Albert Schweitzer, 1924-1974, documents Regester's research on Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965), a medical missionary, philosopher, and Nobel Peace Prize winner (1952) who operated a hospital in Lambaréné, Gabon, for 45 years.

Descartes, René, Les principes de la philosophie, 1659.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online

We look forward to assisting you!