Collins Memorial Library: Music 493: Spirituals: Articles

Databases

These are only some of the databases that may be useful for your research. Depending on the lens through which you view your project, you may need to use other resources. Consult the Subject list of LibGuides for more suggestions.

Key Music Related Databases

JSTOR
An multidisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Music Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text, for international music periodicals. Content covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

More Databases to Search

Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).