Collins Memorial Library: Music 234: Introduction to Ethnomusicology: Writing & Citing

Citing Sources

Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:

Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
Back up claims and statements.
Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
Support academic integrity.

Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles. Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools: RefWorks and Zotero.

Academic Integrity

Start with these sources about academic integrity, but don't hesitate to ask a librarian or your instructor if you have further questions.

Citation Guides

The Chicago Manual of Style Online by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9780226104201
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q & A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets. Restricted to subscribing institutions.

You may use either Chicago or MLA as your citation style guide.

The library has developed quick reference sheets which include examples of the most common sources:

Quick Guides to the Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Notes-Bibliography System (Humanities Style)
Author-Date System
Supplement for History Papers

Quick MLA reference sheet

Additionally, there are many great online sites that will assist you in interpreting and utilizing the various citation styles. Here is one good one to be aware of: Purdue OWL: Style Guide

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241
The library has two copies. One is shelved in the reference stacks on the main floor and the other is on reserve at the Circulation Desk.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: Print Books LB2369 .T8 2013
ISBN: 9780226816371
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations.
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by Thomas Donahue
Call Number: ML3797 .D76 2010 Reference (Main Floor)
ISBN: 9780810874312
A collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music.

Get Help at CWL

The Center for Writing & Learning (CWL), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process. Services include:

Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.