The MLA International Bibliography indexes all aspects of literary and language studies. Search this database to find books, essays and articles on French literature, language, folklore, and film.
Gale Literature Criticism includes overviews as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars and full-text literary criticism. It is a very useful tool for discerning key trends in scholarly interpretation. Use this database to find reviews and scholarly treatments of French and Francophone authors, works, periods, and themes. Each record includes full bibliographic information so that you can track down the original sources.
Depending on the database, there are a few strategies to find resources written in French:
Be aware of databases that auto correct French words to similar English words.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of French Studies, but they are more limited in scope and coverage compared to a subject database like the MLA International Bibliography. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then search the journal title in Primo to link to the materials in these e-journal collections. However, if you are doing interdisciplinary research, JSTOR and Project Muse can be excellent databases to search because of their multidisciplinary focus.
Depending on your needs, you may also wish to explore some of these databases.
Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.
Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.