Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French & Francophone Studies

Search the Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is a full-text database of author biographies, selected literary criticism and reviews, and topic overviews. Some literary texts are also available. Use LRC and the other resources on this page to help you find background information, approach subjects that are new to you, or put a text or author in a larger perspective. Includes English and French-language materials.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines. It encompasses content relevant to several aspects of French Studies, including cinema, history, literature, food and culture, and the arts.

Additional Online Reference Resources

Encyclopedias for French History & Culture

Print reference books are located on the first floor of Collins Library.

Country Information: France

Literary Theory & Criticism

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge Histories series is an indispensable reference collection with over 300 titles spanning 15 subject areas, including literary studies. Each (often multi-volume) history provides a big-picture perspective of its subject, introduces readers to existing scholarship, and proposes new trends in the field. 

Literary Encyclopedias

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Oxford DictionariesOxford Dictionaries includes additional resources and tools for learning the French language, including an extensive library of letter templates, vocabulary games, and cultural information.

French Language Resources