Collins Memorial Library: COMM 160: Introduction to Organizational Communication: Scholarly Sources

Recommended Databases for Communication Studies

Business Source Premier
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)
An information gateway for the communications field.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Is it Scholarly?

Here are some general guidelines to identify scholarly articles.

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete

CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication studies discipline.

COMM 160: Introduction to Organizational Communication

Recommended Databases for Communication Studies

Is it Scholarly?

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete

Search Primo