Primary sources in art may take many forms, including:

• artwork
• autobiographies
• film of the artist
• interviews, diaries, speeches, letters
• artifacts of the artist
• photographs of artwork or artists

When searching Primo, try these terms to find primary sources:

• Artists Interviews, ex. Interviews with artists 1966-2012
• Sources, ex. The Art of the Byzantine Empire 312-1453 : sources and documents
• Artists Correspondence, ex. The complete letters of Vincent van Gogh
• Archives, Abby Williams Hill Papers, 1880-1939
• Catalogs, ex. Amalia Amaki : boxes, buttons and the blues
• Catalogues raisonnés, ex. Jacob Lawrence : the complete prints, 1963-2000 : a catalogue raisonné
• Diaries, ex. The diaries of Paul Klee, 1898-1918
• Exhibitions, ex. Contemporary Latin American artists : exhibitions at the Organization of American States 1941-1964
• Notebooks, sketchbooks,etc., ex. The Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci

Artstor is a large collection of digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. 

Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports. 

Visit the Artstor on JSTOR LibGuide, or jump right in with an image search.

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues. 

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Abby Williams Hill papers, 1880s-1930s, include diaries, letters, photographs, and papers documenting the life and work of a female painter and social activist in the early 20th century.

Migeon, Gaston, Arts plastiques et industriels, 1927.

Remington, Frederic, Done in the open: drawings, 1902.

Art work of Tacoma and vicinity, Washington, 1907.

The Archives & Special Collections holds a wonderful collection of artists' books (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections on the left), representing local, regional, and national artists.

In addition, a small portion of photographs, historical documents, and digitized material are available online.  You can also browse archival and manuscript collections as well as rare books on Primo (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections on the left).

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online. 

We look forward to assisting you!