Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selecting Your Primary Source Material
Selecting your primary source text(s) is one of the most important decisions you will make as you undertake a research project. Try to give yourself sufficient time to explore multiple options. You will want to choose primary sources that invite numerous questions related to the theme of the course and that are rich and complex enough to allow for extended analysis and interpretation.
For this project, you have several options for locating primary source materials to integrate into your essay. The boxes below feature materials from our archives session as well additional primary sources and strategies for exploring different aspects of literary culture.
University Historical Sources
Start with these sources to explore literary institutions in and around campus. All of our university publications are fully text-searchable, so once you open a document try using the "Find" function (Ctrl + F or Command + F) and type in a search term or keyword.
Digitized issues of the student newspaper from 1895 to the present.
Black Ice is the student publication from the Black Student Union. The BSU has had a long history here at UPS, and is one of the campuses oldest clubs. BSU has been responsible for implementing and demanding many changes for the betterment of all students of color.
Crosscurrents is the student literary and art magazine of the University of Puget Sound. It was established in 1958 and has traditionally put out at least one magazine per school year. Recent issues are available online via Sound Ideas and back issues in paper form (1958-2010) can currently be found in the Archives & Special Collections.
Wetlands Magazine is the University of Puget Sound’s campus publication dedicated to the critical interrogation of gender, sexuality, ability, age, class, race, embodiment, intersectional identities and social justice as well as the celebration of related art, poetry, literature and performance. Initially founded as a student club, Wetlands became an official ASUPS medium in 2015.
Many other examples of student publications, including alternative newspapers (The Third Eye, UP$ Rut, The Advocate) and zines, are available in paper format in A&SC. Visit during our open hours or contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule an appointment if you'd like to work with one of these publications.
The collections below represent unique literary cultures you may wish to explore in your essay.
These materials are non-circulating and may be viewed in the A&SC reading room during open hours (listed on the right) or by appointment.
African American Communist Party pamphlets, 1928-1974
The Communist Party of the United States was founded in 1919 and it played an important role in defending the civil rights of African Americans during the height of its popularity in the 1930s and 40s. The African American Communist Party pamphlet collection contains 53 pamphlets created between 1928 and 1974 by the Communist Party of the United States of America.
The Collins Library’s collection of artists’ books features artists and writers with a geographic connection to our region, books that focus on themes that reflect the values of our community such as diversity, social justice, sustainability and personal narratives as well as books that showcase a variety of formats. Use Primo
to search for artists' books in our collection, as well as books about artists' books. You can also find photographs of the collection in Artstor
Collins Library Zine Collection
The Collins Library Zine collection contains approximately 500 zines dating from 1996 to the present that cover a wide breadth of topics, including local and national issues, politics, personal narratives, popular culture, activism and social justice, environmental justice, queer identities, feminism, race, and more.
Revisit the zines from our archives session or check out our collection guide
to learn more about zines and zine culture.
Identifying More Primary Sources
Literary Journals & Magazines
Collins Library provides access to many publications that frequently feature fiction, poetry, and other forms of creative writing. A few examples, including titles from our archives session, are listed below. You can use the Poets & Writers database of literary magazines to identify additional titles and then check Primo for holdings information. Some links will offer many back issues while some only offer selected content online. Some journals are also available in print in the Print Journals sections on the lower level of Collins Library.
Databases Containing Literary Magazines, Fiction, and Poetry
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. Search by title or browse by subject (Humanities -- Language & Literature) to identify relevant publications.
Use these sources to find out what's new in the literary community and identify potential literary institutions to analyze, including publishers, literary journals, contests, prizes, and more.
Poets & Writers
Publishes monthly contests, grants, and writer's retreat deadlines. They also have the largest database of literary journals
, both print and online, a database of agents, listings for MFA programs, literary places, and more.
A trade magazine for the publishing industry, this magazine reports on publishing trends and new book deals. Current access available through Literature Resource Center.
A trade magazine aimed at beginning and established writers. It contains interviews, market listings, calls for manuscripts, and how-to articles.
Writer's Market 100th Edition by
Call Number: PN161 .W83 Reference
Publication Date: 2021
The ultimate reference to the business and promotion of writing with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections, along with contact and submission information. This 100th edition (2021) also includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index.
Poet's Market 2020 by
Call Number: PN1059.M3 P59 Reference
Publication Date: 2020
Includes hundreds of publishing opportunities specifically for poets, including listings for book and chapbook publishers, print and online poetry publications, contests, and more.
Archivist & Special Collections Librarian
Archives & Special Collections Hours
The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.
Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email email@example.com.
We look forward to assisting you!