Collins Memorial Library: Public Health: Articles

Key Database: PubMed

PubMed is your go-to source for searching the medical literature. Bookmark this link to access PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=wacmllib

PubMed is available to anyone, but not all articles found through undefined PubMed are openly accessible. By using this link, you will be shown a small blue and white 'Check for full text' button on article results pages which will connect you back to the University of Puget Sound to check for full-text access through Collins Library! Keep an eye out for that 'check for full text' button.

Key Database: Public Health

Public Health Database
This ProQuest database indexes more than a thousand titles relevant to the field of public health, spanning decades of literature. Not all results are available in full text so be sure to click 'Check for full text' as needed.

Subject-Specific Specialized Databases

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. In addition to Reviews, provides other sources of information including systematic reviews, abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
Health Evidence
From McMaster University, search for access to quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.

Public Health Journals

See below for a selection of the public health specific journals accessible to you through Collins Library.

American Journal of Epidemiology
Full text access from 1996-present.
American Journal of Public Health
Full text access dating back to 1971, with the most recent 2 years not available.
Annual Review of Public Health
Full text access from 1980-present.
Journal of Public Health Policy
Full text access from 1980 through the present
Preventive Medicine
Full text access from 1995 through the present