Collins Memorial Library: CHEM 341: Physical Chemistry II: Articles

Searching the Chemistry Literature

Annual Review of Physical Chemistry
Published once yearly, this collection of review articles in the field of physical chemistry is a great way to start searching for information on your topic.

A good place to start your research is by looking for review articles to help you get a broad sense of your topic. One place to start is with the Annual Review of Physical Chemistry...you can use the search box in the upper right hand corner, and be sure that the "this journal" box is checked. Click the link above or the image below to search within this journal.

ACS Publications
Full text of all journal titles published by the American Chemical Society (ACS) plus directories, buyer's guides, a grad school finder, a "Chemcyclopedia", and the ACS booklist.

SciFinder-n
A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!

NOTE: First time Puget Sound users must register for an account by clicking on this link and then registering for an account with a pugetsound.edu email address.

Note: Using SciFinder for the first time? Use this link to register for your free account! You must register with your @pugetsound.edu email address.

Additional Recommended Databases

PubMed
Bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Coverage encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the fields of Economics, and Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

One very useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

Try it using the example article from your assignment:

Cochran, K.H.; Barry, J.A.; Muddiman,D.C.; Hinks, D. Direct Analysis of Textile Fabrics and Dyes Using Infrared Matrix-Assisted Laser Desorption Electrospray Ionization Mass Spectrometry. Anal. Chem. 2013, 85, 831−836

Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.