Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Primary Sources
The resources on this page are just a tiny sampling of the primary sources available to you! Talk with Prof. Fisher and Peggy Burge to discuss the possibilities for your own project.
Remember, too, that our own Archives & Special Collections are available to you as well! Email firstname.lastname@example.org with questions, and also take a look at the A&SC materials that have been digitized thus far, like The Trail.
Collins Library subscribes to an extensive array of newspaper databases.
For those of you researching earlier topics, the following historical newspapers are also available:
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
London Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
The American Decades Primary Sources collections include an anthology of primary sources related to science and technology, organized by decade. The primary sources range from newspaper or magazine articles, to excerpts of scientific works, to photographs or images.
Many government entities have digitized portions of their records, such as:
NASA History Division
Included are PDFs of Press Kits, Press Releases, Mission Transcripts, and Administrators' Speeches.
TRAIL (U.S. government technical reports)
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
Congress.Gov This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Library of Congress, makes federal legislative information free to the public, including the Congressional Record, Committee information, information on the legislative process, historical documents and much more.
Additionally, there are many specialized open access archives available on specific topics:
Search Primo by author and/or title to locate published works.
Collins Library provides access to a rich variety of weekly or monthly magazines.
The print periodicals collection includes the major news magazines (Time, U.S. News & World Report, Newsweek); political commentary (Nation, New Republic, Commentary, National Review); general interest (New Yorker, Atlantic, Harper's); and some runs of popular science magazines (Discover).
Some popular magazines are available online; just search Primo with the title of the magazine and limit the results to "journals."
Indexing is available via the Readers' Guide databases:
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.