Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STS 480: Senior Research Seminar: Writing & Citing

Get Help at CWL

The Center for Writing & Learning (CWL), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process.  Services include:

  • Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
  • Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
  • Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
  • Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.

Sound Writing

CWLT Logo

Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.

In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.

Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).

Current Edition: 2020

Citation & Science Writing Resources

For this course, you will be using the Chicago Manual of Style's notes-and-bibliography (or Humanities) style to cite your sources. Check out the following online resources for using Chicago Style:

 

Zotero Tips & Tricks!

  • Got a stack of PDFs lying around? Add 'em to Zotero by dragging & dropping, and then retrieve their metadata! Just drag your PDF files into the Zotero center panem then right-click the PDFs and choose "Retrieve Metadata for PDFs."  Zotero will retrieve their citation data from Google Scholar and turn them into citeable items with PDF attachments. If Zotero can't find a match on Google Scholar, you can still save the citation from another catalog or article database, then drag the PDF onto the citation to make it an attachment. Watch a tutorial here. Note that Google Scholar citation metadata is not always as complete or robust as data obtained from library databases. 
  • Looking to use Zotero on your iPad or iPhone? Check out ZotPad, a free iOS app. 
  • Create your bibliography while you're writing with Zotero's word processor plugins

Citing Sources

Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:

  • Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
  • Back up claims and statements.
  • Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
  • Support academic integrity.

Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles.  Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools:  RefWorks and Zotero.