Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
Primo Journal Search
Type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article!
Recommended Subject Database
There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. For this course, you most likely will want to start your search with one or more of the databases below (depending on your approach or angle). Always make sure that you've selected the most appropriate database to search!
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Database Search Tips
Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
||What It Does
||Searches for exact phrase
|Truncation (usually an *)
||Searches for all forms of a word
|Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
||Lets you broaden or narrow your search
|Database thesaurus or index
||Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses