Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BEAM is an acronym intended to help you think about the various ways you might use sources when writing a researched argument. Joseph Bizup, an English professor at Boston University, outlined the framework in a 2008 article. The idea has since been refined and adapted by many others.
Background & Overviews
Tertiary sources, such as subject encyclopedias, are excellent starting points in your research. Use them to find:
- Helpful overviews of key facts: who? what? when?
- Bibliographies of especially significant scholarly work.
- Identification of important primary sources.
- Brief descriptions of main scholarly arguments: how? why?
At Collins Library, you can access subject encyclopedias in a variety of formats: print, ebook, or via larger digital collections.
Print encyclopedias are located on the first floor of the library, across from the Learning Commons.
Online encyclopedias can be accessed via PRIMO, the library's discovery platform.
Large digital collections of subject encyclopedias can be accessed via several publisher-based platforms.
Of those listed below, GVRL and SAGE are likely to give you the most and the best results!
ABC CLIO eBooks This link opens in a new window
This eBook Collection contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Associate Director for Public Services
, Crime, Law, & Justice Studies
, Interdisciplinary Humanities
, Religion, Spirituality, and Society
, Science, Technology, Health & Society
Work with a Peer Research Advisor!
The last day of peer research advising was May 8, 2022. Peer research advisors will be resuming hours in the fall!