Collins Memorial Library: STS 370: Science & Religion: Historical Perspectives: Primary Sources & News

Primary Sources for STS

When you're looking for primary sources in STS, think carefully about what you're looking for to determine the best place to start. Are you looking for:

Journal articles published by the individual or their critics and contemporaries?
Popular press articles reporting on the individual or events?
Personal papers, diaries, memoirs, or letters of individuals or folks involved in an event?
Photographs or artifacts from a particular time period or undertaking?

Consult with your liaison librarian to determine where you should look for different types of sources. Remember that museums and historical societies often have digital collections of documents and artifacts that can be accessed online.

Contemporary National News Coverage

News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
Alt-PressWatch
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.

Finding Historical News & Magazine Articles

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).