Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STS 370: Science & Religion: Historical Perspectives: Find Articles

Additional Resources for Researching Science, Technology, and Society

Key Database: HSTM

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) is the definitive international bibliographic database for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. It includes materials published until 1975; for works published prior to 1975, check the Isis Cumulative Bibliography. Click here to search the HSTM database! 

Prior to HSTM, there was the Isis Cumulative Bibliography.  This predecessor to the database are printed volumes, and it extends coverage back to 1913. People and institutions as subjects of study are simply arranged alphabetically by name, with citations listed beneath each entry. Subjects, periods, and civilizations are arranged in a subject classification, so check the index for what you are interested in. You'll need to think more broadly than when you search a computerized database. Don't hesitate to ask for assistance with these indexes if you'd like to use them! Click the links below for location and availability at Collins. 

Search JSTOR

JSTOR contains thousands of full-text articles from journals across the sciences, humanities, and social sciences, and in particular is known for providing online access to extensive archives of back issues of journals, and as such is particularly helpful for historical research. Click here or use the search box below