Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STS 370: Science & Religion: Historical Perspectives: Finding Background Info

Sage Reference Online

This collection of online encyclopedias is another great source for finding background information and context about your topic. Gather significant names and dates as you go to help you narrow your search and identify useful search terms. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Start your search for background information with these resources. Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines, including the Mcgraw-Hill Dictionary of Science & Technology and the Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Click here or use the search box below 

Key Print Reference Sources

You'll find these print sources in the reference section on the main floor of the library! As you use these and other reference sources, keep these tips in mind:

  • Use the index to find your topic. Not all scholarly encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically, or your topic might be covered in a larger entry.
  • Try to find cross references. Look for 'see also' at the beginning or end of a topic.
  • Look for citations at the end of an entry. Helpful secondary books and articles may be listed, and you may even find citations to primary source material. Build a citation chain using this material.