Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject encyclopedias are designed to give you an overview of a scholarly topic, rather than just giving you facts. Each entry in a subject encyclopedia is usually written by a topic expert and followed by a bibliography highlighting the key scholarly works on a topic. It's a great way to get started!
Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement by
Call Number: DD256.5 .L51313 1997 Print Reference
Publication Date: 1997
The Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement covers all facets of the opposition to Hitler and his regime. Approximately seven thousand individuals known by name come under the broad notion of resistance governing this volume. The encyclopedia is divided into three (copiously cross-referenced) parts, moving from general overviews to highly specific short entries.In Part One, ten long essays survey the main groups of resisters and opponents of the Nazi regime, including Communists, socialists, Christians, Jews, Jehovah's Witnesses, the military, women, young people, and emigres. Part Two contains shorter articles on specific topics, groups, and events, ranging from the Confessing Church and the Jewish Chug Chaluzi to military sabotage, desertion, everyday disobedience, and assassination attempts. Part Three consists of 550 short biographies of the main opponents of National Socialism mentioned.
Encyclopedia of Russian History by
Call Number: Electronic reference: click on link above to access
Publication Date: 2004
Features nearly 1,500 entries by experts on all aspects of Russian history, including important biographical figures, geographical areas, ethnographic groups, cultural landmarks, military campaigns, and social issues.
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich by
Call Number: DD256.5 .G76313 1991 Print Reference
Publication Date: 1991
Entries in this book aim to provide a comprehensive source of information on the Third Reich.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
Call Number: Click on title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the global perspectives and gender-inclusive concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years.
World Fascism by
Call Number: JC481 .W67 2006 Print Reference
Publication Date: 2006
This book shows how, during the 20th century, evils such as totalitarianism, tyranny, war, and genocide became indelibly linked to the fascist cause, and examines the enduring and popular appeal of an ideology that has counted princes, poets, and war heroes among its most fervent adherents.
Subject Encyclopedias: Large Digital Collections
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Associate Director for Public Services
, Crime, Law, & Justice Studies
, Interdisciplinary Humanities
, Religion, Spirituality, and Society
, Science, Technology, Health & Society
Work with a Peer Research Advisor!
Fall 2022 Hours
Peer research advisor drop-in hours are in Library 118 as follows:
Sunday: 6-9 pm
Monday: 6-9 pm
Tuesday: 6-9 pm
Additional times and locations (just look for the sign!):
Tuesday: 10-11 am
Wednesday: 12-1 pm
Thursday: 1-2 pm