Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note that there is an "embargo" of 2-10 years on recent content for almost all journals.
Tip: Scholarly articles on aspects of African history, society and culture are published in a wide range of academic journals in several different disciplines. For this reason, we recommend that you do not limit your searches in JSTOR to just "African Studies" journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
May index scholarly work not found in the other databases.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.