Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music and Films
Search Primo by title for specific recordings or films. Media (DVDs and CDs) can be checked out for six days with one renewal. Selections not in Collins Library can be requested through SUMMIT.
Collins Library also subscribes to several streaming services:
Music & Performing Arts
This is a streaming music collection from Alexander Street Press, including American Song, a collection of genres including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, jazz, gospel, spirituals, and shape note singing.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
Provides online streaming access to thousands of films from 'Films for the Humanities and Sciences.' Films can be searched by title or by subject area. Users may set up an individual account and create their own playlists. For this class, you may wish to look specifically at the Archives and Newsreels collection.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library Jazz is a comprehensive collection of jazz available online. Select works by labels, artist, composer or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers. Note: 3 simultaneous users.
Naxos Music Library
A collection of classical music available streaming online. Included is traditional music of many countries throughout the world including from Africa, Asia, North and South America. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.
Access limited to 12 simultaneous users.
The Popular Press
American Decades Primary Sources (1900-1999)
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. It includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the key issues, themes, movements and events from each decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Search these databases (using the date limiters) to see how the popular press reported on (or didn't report on) rock music!