Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Subject Databases
Use a selection of these databases to identify scholarly articles.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text, for international music periodicals. Content covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Primo Journal Search
If you have a citation to a journal article, use Primo to see if Collins Library has the journal for the year that you need. Remember to type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article!
If Collins Library does not have the journal, request the article from ILLiad. You'll receive a PDF of the article typically within just a few days.
Surveys and overviews, like your textbook, provide a foundation for further research. When you browse through these books, take careful note of recommended readings and sources; these often will lead you to excellent scholarly materials for your specific research topic. Once you've developed a list of possible resources, then check Primo to track down these books.
The following Library of Congress Subject Headings will help you identify specific books in Collins Library or in one of our partner SUMMIT libraries. These subject headings are broader in focus and will help you place your singer, songwriter, or group in context.