Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Religion, but they are more limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note that typically there's an "embargo" on recent content.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
Religion Subject Databases
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Combines the major index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Additional Subject Databases
These subject databases may also prove useful for research in Religion and Ethics.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Helpful for locating scholarly articles on ethics.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Useful for identifying scholarly articles on ritual, archaeology, or mythology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Useful for identifying scholarly articles in which the authors have used sociological methods in the study of religious practices.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Covers history of religions in the medieval and early modern periods.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on the history of religions in the modern world (1450-present). American and Canadian history is indexed in America: History and Life.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers Canadian and U.S. history from prehistoric times to the present.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.