Collins Memorial Library: RELIGION, SPIRITUALITY, &amp; SOCIETY: SUBJECT GUIDE: Interdisciplinary

Interdisciplinary Research

Depending on your research topic, you may wish to consult the "Research by Subject" guides for other disciplines.

The following subject guides may be particularly helpful, again, depending on your focus:

Asian Studies

Art

Classics

Gender Studies

History

Philosophy

Science, Technology and Society

Sociology and Anthropology

Interdisciplinary Approaches

The disciplines of Religion and Ethics are very "friendly" to interdisciplinary inquiry and research methods. The following books can give you a sense of where to start.

The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion by Peter Clarke
Call Number: BL60 .O94 2009 Print books
ISBN: 9780199279791
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion draws on the expertise of an international team of scholars providing both an entry point into the sociological study and understanding of religion and an in-depth survey into its changing forms and content in the contemporary world.
Handbook of Bioethics and Religion by David E. Guinn (Editor)
Call Number: R725.55 .H36 2006 Print books
ISBN: 9780195178739
Publication Date: 2006
This collection of scholarly essays focuses on the interface of religion and bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by Wentzel Van Huyssteen
Call Number: BL240.3 .E43 2003 (vols. 1-2) Reference
ISBN: 9780028657042
Publication Date: 2003
This reference resource examines the issues and the history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion in more than 400 scholarly articles.
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of Ritual and Religion by Timothy Insoll (Editor)
Call Number: BL65.A72 O94 2011 Print Books
ISBN: 9780199232444
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of Ritual and Religion provides a comprehensive overview by period and region of the relevant archaeological material in relation to theory, methodology, definition, and practice.
The Routledge Companion to Religion and Film by John Lyden (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.5 .R68 2009 Print book
ISBN: 9780415601870
Publication Date: 2009
The Routledge Companion to Religion and Film introduces students to the key topics in religion and film and investigates the ways in which the exciting subject of religion and film is developing for more experienced scholars.