Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthologies & Curated Collections
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" at the University of Houston, this collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1691-1820 (Series 1) This link opens in a new window
Series 1 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to early English-language colonial imports and to journals of the American Revolution and early republic.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1821-1837 (Series 2) This link opens in a new window
Series 2 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals from
from the Jacksonian period in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1838-1852 (Series 3) This link opens in a new window
Series 3 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals and magazines during a period of western expansion, railroad construction, and sharp regional differences.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1853-1865 (Series 4) This link opens in a new window
Series 4 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals and magazines of the Civil War era, including antislavery, temperance, and women's suffrage publications.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1866-1912 (Series 5) This link opens in a new window
Series 5 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to thousands of periodicals published after the Civil War and into the early Progressive era.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
From the Library of Congress a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Foreign Language Press Survey
"The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Progress Administration of Illinois. The purpose of the project was to translate and classify selected news articles that appeared in the foreign language press from 1855 to 1938. The project consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago."
The Dillingham Commission
Known as the Dillingham Commission, the U.S. Immigration Commission was a joint House-Senate Commission that produced a series of reports on immigration and immigrants between 1907 and 1911. The forty-one volume series includes a wealth of information on immigrant communities, statistics on immigration, immigrant workers in specific industries, children of immigrants in schools and immigration legislation. The Commission was created by anti-immigration forces in Congress and that is reflected in some volumes of the report, such as the "Dictionary of Races and Peoples" and in the recommendations to restrict immigration from southern and eastern Europe.
Specialized Digital Collections
SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
VOCES Oral History Project
Captures Latinx voices from the era of World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.
U.S. Government Sources
These sources include statistics on people living in the United States, or immigrating to the United States. Older immigration statistics can be found in the annual reports of the Immigration and Naturalization Services (or before 1933, the Bureau of Immigration). Copies of most of these can be found digitized in Hathi Trust or in print via SUMMIT.