Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for the Literature Review
The following databases will help you identify scholarly material for your project.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
What's in ATLA?
ATLA is the main subject database for the field of religion. It differs from other subject databases (such as Political Science Complete, PsycInfo, or America: History and Life) with which you may be familiar because it indexes three distinct types of sources:
- Scholarly (peer-reviewed)
- Religious academic (peer-reviewed within the context of a specific faith tradition)
- Non-academic religious publications, including popular magazines, texts aimed at those working in pastoral care; guides to spiritual life, etc.
Please see the attached Microsoft Word chart for specific examples.
If you select the "peer-reviewed" option when searching ATLA, you will get options #1 and #2 above in your results. Religious academic publishing may or may not be appropriate for your literature review. It depends on the context and scope of the writing. A historical analysis may be entirely appropriate for your needs, while a specific theological interpretation of a passage in the New Testament may be more appropriate to use as a primary source. If you have any questions at all about how to classify or use a specific article or book, please consult with a librarian.