Collins Memorial Library: REL 332: Buddhism: Home

Start with Subject Encyclopedias!

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: Click the title above for online access.
ISBN: 9780028657189
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, it also explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.

As you explore the various entries in subject encyclopedias, start making a list of specialized terms and concepts that relate to the broad topic of "Buddhism and the mind." You will need these terms when you search the databases for scholarly articles. Also pay close attention to the very helpful bibliographies at the end of each entry.

A Dictionary of Buddhism by Damien Keown (editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
ISBN: 9780198605607
Publication Date: 2004
Covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism, and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures. Appendices include a chronology and a guide to canonical scriptures as well as a pronunciation guide for names and terms.

ATLA Religion Database

ATLA Religion is the primary database for researching topics in religion.

RefWorks Group Account

Please add your chosen scholarly article on "the mind and Buddhism" to the REL 332 RefWorks group account. (Login information is shared in class; email Peggy Burge to obtain it if you misplace the information.) By the end of the semester, the class will have assembled a working bibliography of scholarly sources that could be used, in part, to support your research paper!

Link to RefWorks: http://ezproxy.ups.edu/login?url=http://collins.pugetsound.edu/php/refworks.php

For more help with using RefWorks, consult the Citation Tools guide (note the drop-down menu for RefWorks help).