Archives & Special Collections: Other Archives and Special Collections

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu. 

We look forward to assisting you!

In addition to the Archives & Special Collections at Puget Sound, there are a number of local institutions with their own archival collections. If you would like help or advice on visiting these collections, please contact us.

• The Tacoma Public Library's Northwest Room has an extensive collection of material documenting life in Tacoma and the Pacific Northwest as well as a small collection of early printed books.
  • Photographs
  • Historical information on buildings in Tacoma
  • Local obituaries
• Pacific Lutheran University holds material related to the institution's founding and history.
• The Washington State Historical Society collects material documenting the history of Washington State.
• Evergreen State University's archives collects material related to the institution's history. They also have various special collections including the Chicano Archives, the records of the Nisqually Delta Association, and the Washington State Folklife Council, among others. 
• The University of Washington Special Collections has an extensive collection of rare books, artists' books, and archives documenting local, national, and international topics during a wide range of periods. While most of their material will only be available in person, they have digitized some material for their Digital Collections.
• The National Archives at Seattle contains local historical and genealogical documents as well as federal records.

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. 

If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact us:  archives@pugetsound.edu.