These databases contain the full text of several literary magazines.
Types of Primary Sources:
Your choice of which primary sources to analyze in your projects will be very much dependent on the context of the assignment.
The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.
Herle, Charles, A fuller answer to a treatise written by Dr. Ferne..., 1642.
Nicholson, William, An introduction to natural philosophy. Illustrated with copper plates, 1782.
Descartes, René, Les principes de la philosophie, 1659.
Brande, William Thomas, A dictionary of science, literature, & art..., 1851.
The Abby Williams Hill papers, 1880s-1930s, document the life and work of this female painter and social activist in the early 20th century. Hill was especially interested in early education and social justice. She traveled extensively and recorded much of her life and experiences through letters and journals.
In addition, a small portion of photographs, historical documents, and digitized material are available online. You can also browse archival and manuscript collections as well as rare books on Primo (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections on the left).
Naxos Music Library Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes over 630,000 tracks, including classical, jazz, world and folk music. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.
Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information. Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.
Examples in the humanities:
Examples in the social sciences:
Example in the sciences:
The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.
Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
We look forward to assisting you!