Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Depending on the scope of your research project, you also may wish to search one or more of the following databases.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of History, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. Most databases for historians focus on a particular geographical and/or chronological period. Always make sure that you've selected the most appropriate database to search!
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes Western-language scholarly work in all disciplines as it pertains to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly work in classical history.
Combined Database Search: HA and AHL
This combined search box covers world history, including the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Do not use this search box if you are researching classical or medieval history--instead, use Iter and L'année philologique from the list above.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.