Collins Memorial Library: Systemic Racism in Greek Life at Puget Sound in the 1960s: Additional Resources

Recommended Additional Resources

The search for primary sources does not stop with one institution! Below are some additional, freely-available resources and digital collections that may be of interest on the topic of systemic racism in Greek life:

The Stanford Daily’s Archive--Articles about Stanford Sigma Chi Suspension
Our digital teaching collection briefly mentions the suspension of the Sigma Chi chapter at Stanford University for pledging a Black member. The Stanford Daily is the university newspaper and their digital archives contain articles about this period of time between 1965-1966. Click this link to explore some of these articles yourself--note that this is not a curated collection, but a list of search results. Feel free to continue your research in their database!
“Jim Crow and Segregation” primary source set, Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers primary source sets, lesson plans, and presentations to support educators in teaching effectively with primary sources. This 18-item primary source set ranges in date between 1868-2011 and features photographs, newspaper articles, printed materials, and an oral history. This source set investigates the systems of laws and practices which denied full freedom and citizenship to African Americans, segregating nearly all aspects of public life.
“Race and Racism in Fraternity and Sorority Life: A Historical Overview: Race and Racism in Fraternity and Sorority Life”
This article was published in the New Directions for Student Services journal in March 2009. It’s a great resource if you’d like a brief, historical overview of race and racism in fraternity and sorority life.

Continuing Your Research

If you'd like to continue researching this topic, we recommend using the below search terms and subject headings. Copy the terms and paste them into your library's online catalog (for Puget Sound community members, copy it into the Primo search box on Collins Memorial Library's front page) or digital collections database.

Library of Congress subject headings:

Civil rights movements -- United States -- History
Discrimination in housing -- United States
Greek letter societies -- United States
Racism -- United States -- History -- 20th Century