Collins Memorial Library: Bringing Women's Studies to Puget Sound: Additional Resources

Recommended Additional Resources

The search for primary sources does not stop with one institution! Below are some additional, freely-available resources and digital collections that may be of interest on the topic of women's studies and women's rights in a broader context:

Digital Feminist Archives
This collection of student-curated online exhibits from the Barnard Center for Research on Women contains fliers, reports, newsletters, pamphlets, conference programs and other materials dating back to the early Second Wave of American women’s movements. Topics include Gender and Sexuality in Higher Education, Lesbian Activism, Women in the Workforce, and more.
Women’s Liberation Movement Print Culture
This collection from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History & Culture at Duke University contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
The Equal Rights Amendment
This primary source set from the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) uses photographs, ephemera, political cartoons, video clips, and other documents to explore women’s rights activism inspired by the Equal Rights Amendment.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Materials are keyword searchable and can be browsed by title, date, or series. For cultural and historical materials related to this primary source set, start by browsing items under the “Feminist” series.

Continuing Your Research

If you'd like to continue researching this topic, we recommend using the below search terms and subject headings. Copy the terms and paste them into your library's online catalog (for Puget Sound community members, copy it into the Primo search box on Collins Memorial Library's front page) or digital collections database.

Library of Congress subject headings:

Education, Higher -- Curricula -- United States
College students
Feminism and higher education
Women in higher education
Women’s studies -- United States