Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Databases
Online databases are invaluable resources for researchers. They make discovering and locating relevant scholarly material extremely efficient. At the same time, it is important to understand that there are different kinds of databases, and scholars need to be able to distinguish between these different types and to select the appropriate databases for their research needs. Here are some brief overviews of different types of databases.
Subject databases cover a specific discipline or sub-discipline or a specific interdisciplinary area. For example, Business Source Premier contains popular and scholarly materials covering all aspects of business and finance. Subject databases will help you access the most in-depth range of materials and typically should be your first choice.
Interdisciplinary databases, cover a wide range of disciplines, and often index resources from scholarly and popular sources. Academic Search Premier and the Social Science Premium Collection are examples of interdisciplinary databases. While convenient, these databases can provide an overwhelming number of results, and you'll need to be mindful of the lens or disciplines that information you find is coming from.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of full text journals, including many peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, disabled persons, drugs, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Interdisciplinary databases like Academic Search Premier and the Social Science Premium Collection will lead you to a wide variety of popular and scholarly resources that come from a broad array of disciplines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
ILL: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it: our Interlibrary loan service.
You'll need to activate your account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.
Once you have an account, either go directly to ILL and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea