Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
National & International News
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Global news and analysis. The Economist offers fair-minded, fact-checked coverage of world politics, economics, business, science, and more.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
New York Times
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
and search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
Reports, Data, and Statistics
Depending on your focus and if you are interested in pursuing a data-driven project, you may be able to use industry or market reports or data sets from the following sources.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window
Data Planet simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
A research tool designed to provide access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
Social Explorer includes the entire US Census (1790 to 2010) and the American Community Survey (2005 to 2015).
Specialized U.S. data resources include the FBI Uniform Crime Report (2010 to 2015), American election results (1912 to 2016), Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980 and 2010), Vulcan Project carbon emissions data (2002), US Business Patterns (2014), and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program data (2010 to 2016).
International data resources include the United Kingdom Census (2011), Canadian Census (2011), Eurostat (1990, 2000, 2010 to 2013), World Development Indicators (2013), and Irish religion and population data (1911 and 2001).