Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of 'The Dictionary of Art,' and gives users access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links and images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as entries and images from the 'Oxford Companion to Western Art,' the 'Concise Dictionary of Art Terms,' and 'Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.' Thematic timelines and learning resources are also included.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Search Primo for books, media, and articles. You can borrow some items Collins does not own via Summit.
To find published primary sources such as diaries, letters, speeches, artwork, etc, you can search Primo, the Library's catalog. You can also consult databases such as:
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Is a video subscription that delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.
In secondary sources, writers examine and analyze primary sources. Secondary sources include articles and books and may be for general audiences or scholarly ones. Secondary, scholarly articles will mostly appear in peer-reviewed journals. The following databases may be useful for your search. Consult the LibGuides by Subject List for additional subject-specific suggestions.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.
Bibliography of the History of Art & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art This link opens in a new window
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
For other database suggestions, see LibGuides by Subject