Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is intended for an assignment about scenic designers.
General Reference Sources
Theatrical Designers by
Call Number: PN2096.A1 T48 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-13
Beginning with a historical survey on the evolution of theatrical design, the volume features entries on some 270 set, costume, lighting, and theatre building designers, mainly dating from the fifteenth century to the present. Coverage is international, with a necessary emphasis on the United States and Western Europe. Essays of varying length describe and evaluate the career and contributions of each designer, providing information on positions, productions, and awards and generally ending with sources for further reading.
International Dictionary of Theatre by
Call Number: Reference (PN2035 .I49 1992 )
Publication Date: 1995
The International Dictionary of Theatre is a three-volume work, international and historical in scope, covering the theatre from the festivals of ancient Greece to the productions, plays, players, directors and designers of the modern stage. See volume three for information about designers.. Photographs and illustrations are included.
A Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers by
Call Number: Reference PN2096.A1 L33 1990
Publication Date: 1990-11-30
This unique dictionary presents information about scenographic practitioners from ancient Greece through the nineteenth century in those countries with major theatre traditions.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search by name to find information about a set designer.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes article profiles of designers
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Use to find information in newspapers
Primo search for set designers
There are more than 20 books about set designers in the library's book collection.
Browse these areas of the stacks on the third floor:
PN 2091 - stage settings & scenery
PN 2085-2091 - the stage & accessories
Books about Set Designers
American Set Design by
Call Number: PN2096.A1 A76 1985
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Includes: John Lee Beatty, John Conklin, Karl Eigsti, Ralph Funicello, Marjorie Bradley Kellogg, Eugene Lee, Ming Cho Lee, Santo Loquasto, David Mitchell, Douglas Schmidt and Robert Wagner.
American Set Design 2 by
Call Number: Print Books PN2091.S8 A72 1991
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Interviews with set designers
Caspar Neher by
Call Number: PN2096.N4 W55 1986
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Call Number: PN2287.M54 H46 2001
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Jo Mielziner (1901-1976) was an acclaimed scenic designer of the American theatre. Over five decades his career spanned the flowering of the modern theatre in the USA, and he designed many of its most famous productions, including "A Streetcar Named Desire," "Death of a Salesman," "Guys and Dolls," and "Carousel."
Search the web to see if the designer has a website or portfolio.
Scenic Design by Kurt Walls
Associate Director for Public Services
, Crime, Law, & Justice Studies
, Interdisciplinary Humanities
, Religion, Spirituality, and Society
, Science, Technology, Health & Society