Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Books
Use Primo to search for books. Remember that your specific artist and art work may be discussed in a book that touches more broadly on the era. Once you identify one book that looks promising, take note of its call number and go up to the stacks to browse other books nearby as well.
Searching for Articles
Search these (mostly full text) databases for articles about your artist and art work.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This bibliography covers the study of modern and contemporary art, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage spans European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Topics include visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.