Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Finding News Articles
Newspaper and magazine articles can be helpful when delving into a new topic, or seeking recent developments on an issue.
Take a look at our news guide to find news articles through the library's subscriptions.
Data and statistics about international topics can be found by searching any number of international organizations, foreign governmental agencies and academic studies. As well as a number of resources provided by the library.
For access to a variety of statistics and data resources take a look at the Statistics & Data Resources Guide.
Primary GDS Databases
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include demography, ethnic & racial studies, political sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, socio-cultural anthropology, and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Recommended GDS Databases
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
World DataBank (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of datasets from the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) which is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration / policy.
Search IGO Websites
Searches across the websites of major IGO's including the UN, UNICEF, FAO, WFP, IMF, WTO, WHO, and the World Bank, to help you find information from these websites including news, reports, working papers, statistics & data, and more.
Search Using Google Scholar
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea