Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.
In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.
The preliminary edition of Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).
Current Edition: August 2017
The Center for Writing & Learning (CWL), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process. Services include:
Citation styles vary depending on the discipline of the course you're in. You should always check with your professor to make sure which citation style to use. See the Collins Library quick Chicago: Humanities Style (Notes-Bibliography System) guide for examples of commonly used types of sources, or consult the full manual.
Citing a primary source document from an archive varies depending on which citation style you are using. You'll want to include the same basic information that you usually would for the type of source you are citing (e.g. a newspaper, a letter, etc.), in addition to as many details as possible about its location in the archive to help fellow researchers locate that document.
Basic elements to include in your citations are:
The last 3 elements in the list above refer to the document's physical location in a specific archive. In SSI2 117, we are using a digital archive to locate primary sources, so you'll also want to include Archives of Sexuality & Gender and a link to the source at the end of your citation.
Here is an example:
"The Lavender Menace Strikes." Come Out 1, no. 4 (June-July 1970): 14. Lavender Menace, May 2, 1970-June 27, 1974 and undated, MS Folder No.: 07510, Lesbian Herstory Archives: Subject Files: Part 4: International Women's Day-Peace Camps. Lesbian Herstory Archives. New York, NY. Archives of Sexuality and Gender. Accessed February 27, 2021. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/EGRVPL885359011/AHSI?u=taco25438&sid=AHSI&xid=3fcc71da&pg=3
Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also: