Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Communication Studies
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship) This link opens in a new window
An information gateway for the communications field.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Is it Scholarly?
Here are some general guidelines to identify scholarly articles.
Search Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication studies discipline.