Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Disciplinary Lens Exercise
Different areas of study, both disciplinary and interdisciplinary have their own approaches to knowledge including their own sets of theoretical frameworks, methodologies and scopes that have been shaped by generations of scholars.
When you're studying a topic for a class within a specific discipline it can be very important to use the appropriate disciplinary databases in order to review the pertinent literature from that field. Due to differences in approaches it may not be appropriate to use literature from one discipline to complete an assignment for a class in another discipline.
In this exercise please search for: "individual freedom" and societ*
Google: an Interdisciplinary Search Engine of the Open Web
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to American Anthropological Association publications.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
JSTOR: An Interdisciplinary Scholarly Archive
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.