Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books and thousands of legal forms.
Law journal (aka, law review) articles can be a challenging read. Written by legal scholars for attorneys, they are comprehensive works, and may be helpful to a more in depth understanding of your topic. Bibliographies of the articles are often rich with citations to useful documents.
While both Legal Collection and LexisNexis Academic contain content from law journals, Lexis has other types of content, and its interface tends to be difficult for new users.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
Here are some other databases that may help you with your research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments; Snapshots - market research overviews on industries and countries.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline, and Archive. Includes key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Suggested Human Resources Journals
Business News Sources
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.
Human Resources Trade Materials
These are websites on the open web, and not affiliated with the university. Any accounts are separate from those established by the university.
Society for Human Resource Development
The Society for Human Resource Development (SHRM) has excellent resources and articles, especially for answering your case questions.
HR.com is the largest online community for human resources professionals. They not only have a social network with hundreds of new members signing up daily, but they also have current articles, news, webcasts, events, white papers, templates, forms, and best practices.
State and Federal Governmental Resources
National Labor Relations Board
The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency that protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve their wages and working conditions.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
OSHA's mission is to "assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance".
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
A federal agency that administers and enforces civil rights laws against workplace discrimination.
U.S. Department of Labor
A cabinet-level department of the U.S. federal government responsible for occupational safety, wage and hour standards, unemployment insurance benefits, reemployment services, and some economic statistics.
Code of Federal Regutlations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
United States Statutes at Large
The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Labor & Industries of Washington State
L&I is a diverse state agency dedicated to the safety, health and security of Washington's workers. We help employers meet safety and health standards and we inspect workplaces when alerted to hazards.
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) is the compilation of all permanent laws now in force. It is a collection of Session Laws (enacted by the Legislature, and signed by the Governor, or enacted via the initiative process), arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed. It does not include temporary laws such as appropriations acts.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea