Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
Recommended Ejournal Collections
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Recommended Subject Databases
There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. For this course, you most likely will want to search one or more subject databases. Subject databases are focused on a single discipline or interdisciplinary field and index books, essays in books, and scholarly articles.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Database Search Tips
Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
||What It Does
||Searches for exact phrase
|Truncation (usually an *)
||Searches for all forms of a word
|Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
||Lets you broaden or narrow your search
|Database thesaurus or index
||Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses