Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SIC and NAICS Codes
SIC/NAICS Directories are numerical classification systems to help identify and organize like companies within the same industry.
NAICS Search The North American Industry Classification system (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting and analyzing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- NAICS was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system to allow for a high level of comparability in busines statistics among the North American countries.
- "Concordances" -- A detailed conversion (concordance) between the SIC and 2002 NAICS is available in Excel format. There are no plans to develop a concordance between the SIC and 2007 NAICS.
SIC Manual SIC codes and their descriptions at the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) website
Websters Online A quick way to look up SIC codes and corresponding NAICS codes (use the left column).
Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more. (Contained in the Business Market Research Collection).
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
A database of financial information bringing together S & P's investor information products: Bond Guide, Corporation Records, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund Reports, The Outlook, Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, Stock Guide and Stock Reports.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline, and Archive. Includes key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
Provides free access shareholder reports for many publicly traded corporations
Market and Industry Research
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments; Snapshots - market research overviews on industries and countries.
Encyclopedia of business information sources by
Call Number: ebook
This is a comprehensive listing of business related finding aids including abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries, financial ratios, handbooks and manuals, online databases, periodicals and newsletters, price sources, research centers and institutes, statistical sources trade associations and professional societies, and other related sources of information on each topic.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea