Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GQS 201: Introduction to Gender, Queer, and Feminist Studies: Queering Essay

Finding Articles and Book Chapters

For an upcoming assignment in this class, you'll need to identify, read, analyze, and review one scholarly (peer-reviewed) article or book chapter that demonstrates a queer theoretical approach to a topic.

Not sure where to start?  Here are three broad strategies that you can try:

  • Browse key journals for Gender & Queer Studies
  • Search a subject database, such as the Gender Studies Database
  • Search Primo for print and ebooks related to your topic

Featured Journals

Transgender Studies Quarterly

If you're not sure yet what you're interested in, or you're interested in so many different aspects of queer theory that you can't decide where to focus, you might want to just browse through scholarly journals to see what catches your eye.  Collins Library subscribes to several scholarly journals in the field, including the journals listed below.

 

Practice: Select one title below to browse and respond to the following questions with your table groups.

  • What topics, texts, or ideas are covered in these journals?
  • Can you identify any popular themes or topics related to queer theory?
  • Besides scholarly articles, what else is contained in the journals?
  • Write down 1-2 topics you're interested in "queering."

 

Search the Gender Studies Database

Like most other disciplines, GQS has a subject-specific database, called the Gender Studies Database. Subject databases index scholarly materials (books, chapters in books, scholarly articles, dissertations) that will be of interest to researchers within that discipline. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Gender Studies, there are many other databases that may be useful to utilize for your research. Recommended subject databases for other disciplines can be found on the "articles" tab in each library subject guide.

For this assignment, you'll want to limit your results to just articles or books. Click on the "check for full text" link to see if Collins Library has the journal or you need to order it through interlibrary loan.

Search Primo

Search Collins+Summit+Articles

Searching for Books (and eBooks!)

Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond. 

  • When you find an item that seems relevant, look at its subject terms to find similar items. To do this, check the "Item Details" and simply click on one of the subject headings listed in the record for the book; the next screen will list all the books that share this subject term. For this assignment, "Queer theory" is an enormously useful subject term for identifying scholarly books and articles using this approach.
  • To find the library location of a book's call number, check the location chart.
  • **To find eBooks, use the filters on the right to limit your results to eBooks (under "Resource Type")