Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC 325: History and Systems of Psychology: History of Psychology @ Puget Sound

Psychology at Puget Sound

University of Puget Sound Department of Psychology History

  • With resources provided on this page, and by library staff, research the history of the Psychology Department with respect to courses offered and faculty scholarly interests.  Use Sound Ideas, Google Scholar and PsycINFO to identify Puget Sound faculty scholarship, and any other information you might find out about the department that happened during your decade.
  • Many of the course bulletins are available online.  Bulletins that are not online are available in print in the library.  The Trail is also available online and physically in the library.  Physical copies of the Bulletins and The Trail, along with a set of the Tamanawas Yearbook's are available in the Library Reading Rooms, just to your left as you enter the library.
  • Using what you learn about faculty scholarship for your decade, you will also provide an assessment of the department's "lean" or "culture" with respect to the major systems of psychology.

Faculty Scholarship in Sound Ideas

Some current faculty scholarship can be found in Sound Ideas, the University of Puget Sound's institutional repository.  Keep in mind, however, that this is not a comprehensive list of publications so you'll need to use other tools and methods to identify additional faculty scholarship.

Sound Ideas

This collection represents a sample of faculty work from the Department of Psychology. The psychology faculty represent many of the major sub-disciplines in psychology including development, clinical, cognition, learning, sensation, perception, biopsychology, personality, social, and industrial-organizational psychology.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu. 

We look forward to assisting you!

Visiting the Archives & Special Collections

Students, faculty, visiting scholars, and members of the public with research inquiries are welcome to consult the Archives & Special Collections. Appointments are highly recommended to ensure availability of materials and staff assistance, but we also have drop-in hours during the week when appointments are not required. See the Archives & Special Collections Hours box to the left for information on drop-in hours. 

A few things to be aware of when visiting the Archives & Special Collections:

  • Materials in the Archives & Special Collections do not circulate.  They are available for use only in the Archives & Special Collections.
  • No food or drink is allowed in the Archives & Special Collections.
  • Pencil only, no pens.  We have pencils available if you forget to bring one.
  • Laptops are permitted.
  • Phones and cameras may be used with the permission of the Archivist.

Archives & Special Collections Online

Both The Trail and the 'Puget Sound Bulletins' may be searched by keyword, or browsed by date.

  • The Trail, 1890s-2010s
    • A complete run of the student newspaper.  A small number of issues are not available online, but are clearly marked and may be viewed by visiting the Archives & Special Collections.
       
  • Puget Sound Bulletins, 1907-1970, 2006-present
    • The early bulletins contain a list of faculty, history of campus, classes offered, and the names and addresses of students enrolled.  Issues of the bulletin from 1971-2005 may be viewed by visiting the Archives & Special Collections.
       

Psychology Club, Alpha Psi Chi, 1950

Searching Authors in Google Scholar

Using the advanced search function in Google Scholar search the phrase "University of Puget Sound" or "College of Puget Sound" (whichever name the school had during the timeframe when the professor was teaching) along with the last name and first initial of faculty who were teaching at Puget Sound during your decade.  For example: